
 Application, Examination, Appeal Process
 (Cont’d)

• The CICB Board will make a decision as
 to whether your claim meets the statutory
 requirements for the award of a claim

• You will be notified of the Board’s tentative
 decision

 ◊ If you disagree with the Board’s decision,
  you will have 15 days to appeal in writing
  to the CICB.

 ◊ If you appeal the decision, the Board will
  hold an administrative hearing

• Upon expiration of the 15 day period to ap-
 peal, your claim will be sent to the Secretary
 of the Department of Public Safety and Cor-
 rectional Services for a final approval.

• Once the claim is awarded, it will be pro-
 cessed for payment. If the claim is denied
 you may appeal to your local Circuit Court
 within 30 days

• You may be represented by an attorney at
 any stage of the process

Victim/claimants must submit a completed and
signed application to the CICB either by mail or
FAX to:

Criminal Injuries Compensation Board (CICB)
6776 Reisterstown Road, Suite 206

Baltimore, MD 21215-2340
Phone: (410) 585-3010 or
Toll Free: 1 (888) 679-9347

FAX: (410) 764-3815

CICB website:
 www.dpscs.state.md.us/victimservs/cicb

Online CICB Application/Claim Form:
 dpscs.state.md.us/cicb/CICB-Application-
 english-online.pdf
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If you or members of your family have
been the victim of a crime, you may be

eligible for assistance.

“Thank you for giving us hope
 when we least expected it.”
  -Domestic Violence Survivor
   & CICB Claimant

Assisting Victims of Crime in Maryland for
More Than 40 Years

Criminal Injuries Compensation Board
6776 Reisterstown Rd., Ste 206
Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2340

www.dpscs.state.md.us
TEL: 410-585-3010

V/TTY: 1 800-735-2258
FAX: 410-764-3815

TOLL FREE: 1 888-679-9347

For resources in your
community or to talk with our

Victim Services Coordinator please call:
(410) 585-3715
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Losses that may be reimbursed by CICB as a
result of Victimization:

Medical/Dental expenses -- Maximum award $45,000

• A person who suffers physical injury as a result
 of a crime or delinquent act may be awarded un-
 reimbursed medical or dental expenses related  
 to that injury

• A person who suffers injury while trying to   
 prevent a crime, apprehend a suspect or assist 
 a law enforcement officer in the course of the  
 officer’s official duties

Psychological counseling -- Maximum award $5,000,
 or $1,000 for a parent, child or spouse residing  
 with the victim

• A person who suffers psychological injury as
 the result of a felony, delinquent act, or certain  
 sexual offenses may be awarded unreimbursed  
 counseling costs

Lost Wages or Disability  (total or partial, temporary
or permanent) -- Maximum award up to $25,000

• A person who suffers physical injury as a result  
 of a crime or delinquent act

• A person who suffers injury while trying to   
 prevent a crime, apprehend a suspect or assist 
 a law enforcement officer in the course of the  
 officer’s official duties

• The claimant must have lost at least two contin-
 uous weeks of unreimbursed wages or incurred  
 at least $100 in unreimbursed expenses

• Up to 30 days (and at least two weeks) loss of  
 earnings incurred by a parent or guardian while  
 caring for a child who is a victim, and resides 
 with the child victim

Crime scene clean up -- Maximum award up to $250

• The claim must involve a physical crime against  
 a person

Funeral costs in cases of homicide -- Maximum 
award $5,000

• Funeral or burial expenses in cases of homicide.
 Up to $5,000 will be reimbursed as long as a life  
 insurance policy does not exceed $25,000.

• Reimbursement may be requested by the per-
 son who paid for the funeral expenses

Dependency -- Loss of Support up to $25,000

• A child or spouse of a victim of homicide

• A person who was dependent on a homicide  
 victim for principal support

• A parent, child, or spouse of an individual who 
 is incarcerated for abuse as defined in Sec.  
 4-501 of the Family Law Article and who, prior 
 to incarceration, resided with the parent, child, 
 or spouse and provided financial support to the  
 parent, child, or spouse

Other requirements and limitations:

• Unless good cause is shown, the victim must
 report the crime to the appropriate authorities
 within 48 hours

• The victim or claimant must apply to the CICB  
 within 3 years of the date of the incident. In cas-
 es of child abuse, the victim has until age 25 to  
 apply for compensation -- or later with good  
 cause for not applying in time.

• Claimants must be at least 18 years old. Parents
 or guardians must apply on behalf of minors

• The crime must have occurred in the state of
 Maryland. Each state has a compensation pro-
 gram

• Property loss is not covered by CICB

• As the payer of last resort, CICB must deter-
 mine if some other source was available to
 reimburse the claimed expense. This could
 include insurance, paid leave or other public
 or private benefits

• If a claimant receives an award, and later
 obtains insurance, benefits, or restitution from
 the offender, the claimant must repay that
 amount to CICB

What may make a victim ineligible for
compensation?

• Substantial evidence suggesting the victim
 caused, provoked, failed to avoid or contrib-
 uted to the crime that caused the injury

• Failing to cooperate with authorities or CICB,
 unless good cause is shown

Application, Examination, Appeal Process
 (See the following section for directions on
 submitting an application)

• A claims examiner will be assigned to your
 claim. They will collect all necessary docu-
 mentation on your claim then submit the
 claim to the CICB Board
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