
MARYLAND SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQS) 

 

Q1.  Who Must Register? 

Q2.  When Does Registration Occur?  

Q3.  How Long Does Registration Last?  

Q4.  Why Would a Registrant Be Removed from the Sex Offender Registry?  

Q5.  What Does a Registration Statement Contain?  

Q6.  What Happens If a Registrant Changes Address?  

Q7.  What Happens If a Registrant Doesn't Register?  

Q8.  What About Individuals Who Move into Maryland?  

Q9.  Do Non-Residents Have to Register?  

Q10.  Who Are the "Supervising Authorities"?  

Q11.  What Does "Release" Mean in This Law?  

Q12.  Who May Obtain Registration Statements or Registration Information?  

Q13.   Are There Any Restrictions on Where a Sex Offender Can Live?  

Q14.   Where Can I Get Help If My Child or I Have Been a Victim of Sexual 

Assault?  

Q15.   Where Can I Get A Copy Of Maryland's Sex Offender Registration Law?  

 



Q1. Who Must Register?  
 
 Individuals convicted by a court of law of a sexual offense must register. 
The term and category of registration depends on the crime of conviction, the 
age of the victim and the date that the offense was committed.  
 
Maryland has four categories of sex offenders:  
 
• Child Sex Offenders 
• Sexually Violent Offenders 
• Offenders 
• Sexually Violent Predators 
 
 The chart below explains how Maryland Law determines the length and 
category of registration.  
 

MD SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION CATEGORY BY CONVICTION 
 

CHILD SEXUAL OFFENDER 
As defined in Criminal Procedure Article § 11-701(b) - Registration Every 6 Months 

Offense Age of Victim Article 27 Crim. Law 
Art. 

Registration 
Term 

Sexual Abuse of Minor CPA § 
11-707(a)(4)(ii)(3) 

Under 12 + 
offense involved 

penetration 
§ 35C § 3-602 Lifetime 

Sexual Abuse of Minor Under 18 § 35C § 3-602 10 years 

1st Degree Rape Under 15 § 462(a) § 3-303(c) Lifetime 

1st Degree Rape + Child 
Kidnapping  Under 16  3-303(2)(b) Lifetime 

2nd Degree Rape Under 15 § 463(a) § 3-304(a)(3) Lifetime 

1st Degree Sex Offense Under 15 § 464(a) § 3-305(c) Lifetime 

1st Degree Sex Offense + Child 
Kidnapping Under 16  3-305(2)(b) Lifetime 

2nd Degree Sex Offense Under 15 § 464A(a) § 3-306(a)(3) Lifetime 

3rd Degree Sex Offense Under 15 § 464B(a) § 3-307(3), 
(4) and (5) Lifetime 

All Attempted  Offenses Above 
and All Comparable Common 
Law Offenses 

As defined above § 12A-1 §§ 3-309 to 
312 Lifetime 

4th Degree Sex Offense (and 
ordered by the court to register) Under 15 § 464C(a) 

§ 3-
308((b)(2) 

and (3) 
10 years 



SEXUALLY VIOLENT OFFENDER 
As defined in Criminal Procedure Article § 11-701(f) - Registration Every 6 Months 

Offense Age of Victim Article 27 Crim. Law 
Art. 

Registration 
Term 

1st Degree Rape 15 years & older § 462(a) § 3-303 Lifetime 

2nd Degree Rape 15 years & older § 463(a) § 3-304 Lifetime 

1st Degree Sex Offense 15 years & older § 464(a) § 3-305 Lifetime 

2nd Degree Sex Offense 15 years & older § 464A(a) § 3-306 Lifetime 

3rd Degree Sex Offense  15 years & older § 464B(a) § 3-307 Lifetime 

All Attempted Offenses Above 
and All Comparable Common 
Law Offenses 

As defined above §12A-1 §§ 3-309 to 
312 Lifetime 

OFFENDER 
Convictions in this Category Must Be Ordered By The Court To Register - Registration Every 

6 Months 
As defined in the Criminal Procedure Article § 11-701(d) 

Offense Age of Victim Article 27 Crim. Law 
Art. 

Registration 
Term 

Child Abduction Under 16 § 1 § 11-305 10 years 

Kidnapping 12 years & older § 337 § 3-502 10 years 

Child Kidnapping Under 12 § 338 § 3-503 10 years 

False Imprisonment (not parent) Under 18 Common 
Law 

Common 
Law 10 years 

Fourth Degree Sex Offense Under 18 § 464C(a) § 3-308(b)(1) 10 years 

Child Pornography Under 18 § 419A § 11-207 10 years 

Distribution and Manufacturing of 
Child Pornography Under 18 §§ 15, 426–

433 
§§11-303 to 

306 10 years 

Incest Under 18 § 335 § 3-323 10 years 

Perverted Sex Practices Under 18 § 554 § 3-322 10 years 

Sodomy Under 18 § 553 § 3-321 10 years 

Indecent Exposure  Under 18 Struck Down by MD Court of 
Appeals 2009 N/A 

Soliciting Minor to Engage in 
Sexual Conduct Under 18 N/A § 3-324 10 years 

Crimes that involve conduct that 
by its nature is a sexual offense 
against an individual under the 
age of 18 as defined in CPA 11-
701(d)(7) 

Under 18 N/A 
e.g. § 3-315, 

§11-203, 
§11-208 

10 years 

All Attempted  Offenses Above 
and All Comparable Common 
Law Offenses 

As defined above   10 Years 



SEXUALLY VIOLENT PREDATOR 
As defined in the Criminal Procedure Article § 11--701(h) - Registration Occurs Every 3 

Months 
How the "Predator" status is determined and court ordered is described in Criminal Procedure 

Article § 11-703, Annotated Code of Maryland. 
 
NOTE: "Convicted" is when the person: (1) is found guilty of a crime by a jury or judicial officer; (2) enters a 
plea of guilty or nolo contendere; (3) is granted a probation before judgment** after a finding of guilt for a 
crime if the court, as a condition of probation, orders compliance with the requirements of this subtitle; (4) is 
found not criminally responsible for a crime. 
 
NOTE: See the SOCEM home page to download a PDF of the chart above 
 

Retroactive Application 
 
Child Sex Offenders: A defendant is required to register if he is convicted of an 
offense listed above that was committed before October 1, 1995 and was under 
the custody or supervision of a supervising authority on October 1, 2001 for the 
crime that required registration. 
 
All Other Sex Offenders: A defendant is required to register if he is convicted of 
an offense listed above that was committed before July 1, 1997 and was under 
the custody or supervision of a supervising authority on October 1, 2001 for the 
crime that required registration.  
 
NOTE: "Under the custody or supervision of a supervising authority” means the offender was: 
incarcerated in a county detention center or Division of Correction facility; under the supervision 
of the Division of Parole and Probation; or was under the direct supervision of the Court.  

Out-of-State Conviction as a Sexually Violent Predator 

 An individual must register as a sexually violent predator if, before moving 
into this state, the individual was required to register by another state, federal, 
military, or Native American tribal court every 90 days for life. 

 

http://michie.lexisnexis.com/maryland/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp
http://michie.lexisnexis.com/maryland/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp


Q2. When Does Registration Occur?  

 All registrants must register with a supervising authority or with the 
designated local law enforcement unit.  

Maryland Residents: 

• Within 5 days of changing residences 
• Within 5 days of release to probation from a correctional facility if a 

registration 
• Within 5 days of ending permanent residency in Maryland 

Non-Residents:   

• Within 14 days of beginning employment 
• Within 14 days of registering as a student in a Maryland school 
• Within 14 days of entering the State as a transient individual 
• Within 7 days of beginning permanent residency in Maryland  
• Within 5 days of ending permanent residency in Maryland 

 All Child Sexual Offenders, Sexually Violent Offenders, and Offenders 
must register initially with both the appropriate supervising authority and the 
designated local law enforcement unit; thereafter, they must register semi-
annually in person with the designated local law enforcement unit.  

 Sexually Violent Predators must register initially with the appropriate 
supervising authority and thereafter every 90 days in person with the designated 
local law enforcement unit. 

 



Q3. How Long Does Registration Last?  

 Different states have different lengths of sex offender registration. 
Maryland has two lengths of registration 10 years and life. The length of 
registration is determined by the sex offender's conviction.  For Maryland 
convictions the chart in question 1 explains which convictions carries what length 
of registration.  

Maryland Convictions:  

• Sexually Violent Predator = Lifetime Registration  
• Sexual Violent Offender = Lifetime Registration 
• Child Sex Offender* = Lifetime Registration 
• Offender = 10 Year Registration and it Must be Ordered by the Court 

* A sex offender convicted of "Sexual Abuse of a Minor" without a court's determination that there 
was penetration of a victim under the age of 12 carries a 10 year registration period.   

Out-of-State Convictions 

 A person residing in Maryland but who has a registration obligation in 
another state must register in Maryland for the period of registration required by 
the convicting state.  

 Each case will be reviewed by the Maryland Sex Offender Registry on an 
individual basis in consultation with the convicting state or jurisdiction.  

Examples:  

• A person convicted of a 3rd degree sex offense against a 14 year old child 
in New York and who is required by New York to register as an "offender" for 20 
years will be required to register in Maryland as a "Child Sex Offender" for Life 
years.   
• A person convicted of a 1st degree sex offense against a 23 year old 
person in New York and who is required to register by New York for life as a "Sex 
Offender" will be required to register in Maryland as a "Sexually Violent Offender" 
for life.  

 Non-resident registrants who are working or attending school in Maryland 
must register for the period of time specified for the category of registration, or 
until the registrant's employment or student enrollment in Maryland ends (if that 
occurs before termination of the registration period). 

 



Q4. Why would a registrant be removed from the Sex Offender 
Registry?  

Death - Upon receipt of a death notice for a registrant from a designated 
local law enforcement unit, supervising authority, or other official source, the 
registrant’s name and other identifying information is removed from the 
registry. 

Relocation - When a registrant moves out-of-state, the name is removed 
from the registry and the central registry in the new State is notified. 

Expiration of Registration - When a registrant's term of registration is 
completed the name and other identifying information is removed from the 
registry.  
 
Pardon, Expungement or Overturned Conviction - If a registrant is able 
to get a pardon, an expungement or have the qualifying conviction 
overturned the name and other identifying information is removed from the 
registry.  
 

 

Q5. What Does a Registration Statement Contain?  

A registrant's registration statement contains the following information: 

• Name, address, State Identification Number, FBI Number, and social 

security number 

• Registrant's age  

• Place of employment or school  

• Place of enrollment or employment at an Institution of Higher Education 

in Maryland  

• Registration Category (Child Sexual Offender, Offender, Sexually Violent 

Offender, or Sexually Violent Predator) 

• Term of registration (ten years or life),  

• Residency Information - Maryland resident or non-resident (student or 

worker)  

• A legal description of crime committed by registrant 

• Dates of conviction, offense, and release  

• Any aliases used  



• Internet Identifiers (e-mail address or screen name) 

• Vehicle information (vehicle make, model and color; and license plate) 

• Victim's date of birth  

• Jurisdiction (location of the state, federal, military, or tribal court where 

convicted and sentenced)  

The registration statement also contains the registrant's photograph and 
fingerprints. 

 

Q6. What Happens If a Registrant Changes Address?  

 If the registrant changes address, including moving out of state, he or she 
is required to notify the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services in 
writing within seven days.  

 If the registrant appropriately notifies the Department or the law 
enforcement agency where he or she has been residing, the Maryland Sex 
Offender Registry will notify the new county's local law enforcement unit, the 
SOR unit in the new state of residence, or the designated federal unit if the 
registrant's conviction occurred in a federal, military, or Native American tribal 
court law. 

 If the registrant does not notify either the Department of the local law 
enforcement agency a warrant for his or her arrest will be issued and is subject to 
penalties under the Criminal Procedure Article § 11-721, Annotated Code of 
Maryland.  

 

Q7. What Happens If a Registrant Doesn't Register?  

 If a sex offender knowingly fails to register, change his or her address or 
fails to provide a change as directed is subject to the penalties under Criminal 
Procedure Article, §11-721, Annotated Code of Maryland.  

 The law states that a registrant who knowingly fails to register, fails to 
provide notice of change of address, change of enrollment or employment at a 
Maryland Institution of Higher Education, or who knowingly provides false 
information may be found guilty of a misdemeanor and may be subject to 
imprisonment for up to three years or a fine of up to $5,000 or both. 

 



Q8. What about Individuals Who Move into Maryland?  

 A person who moves to Maryland and has an obligation to register as a 
sex offender in another state must register here in Maryland. 

 A person who moves to Maryland and was convicted of an offense that in 
another state that constitutes a registerable crime in Maryland must also register.     

 Sex offenders subject to the Criminal Procedure Article, §§ 11-701--11-
721, Annotated Code of Maryland, who move into Maryland must register within 
seven days of establishing a temporary or permanent residence in Maryland, or 
applying for a driver's license in this state, whichever occurs earlier. 

 

Q9. Do Non-Residents Have to Register?  

 A person who is a resident of another state where he or she is required to 
register and who enters Maryland for the purpose of employment or attending 
school must register within 14 days of beginning employment or registering as a 
student. 

Employment includes working or "carrying on a vocation," and may be full time 
or part time for a sequential period of the time in Maryland exceeding 14 days or 
for an aggregate period of the time in Maryland exceeding 30 days during any 
calendar year. The employment or vocation may be financially compensated, 
volunteered, or for the purpose of government or educational benefit. 

Attending school includes full-time or part-time attendance at any public or 
private educational institution, including any secondary school, trade, or 
professional institution, or institution of higher education. 

 

Q10. Who Are the "Supervising Authorities"?  
 

"Supervising authorities" include: 
 
• The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, specifically:  
 

o Division of Parole and Probation, for registrants who are under 
parole or probation supervision, or who are new residents or non-
residents; and 

o Patuxent Institution and the Division of Correction, for registrants 
who are incarcerated in a state correctional facility. 

 



• The courts, for certain registrants granted probation before judgment, 
probation after judgment, a suspended sentence, or a sentence without a 
term of incarceration.  

• Local or regional detention centers, for registrants who are incarcerated 
locally; and  

• The Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, for registrants in the 
custody of a DHMH facility.  

 

Q11. What Does "Release" Mean in This Law?  

 "Release" means any type of release from the custody of a supervising 
authority, including: 

• Release on parole, mandatory supervision, work release, and any type of 
temporary leave other than leave that is granted on an emergency basis.  

• When a court grants probation before judgment or probation after 
judgment, or when a court imposes a suspended sentence or a sentence 
without a period of incarceration.  

"Release" does not include an escape from an institution. 

 

Q12. Who May Obtain Registration Statements or Registration 
Information?  

 Any member of the public may obtain a copy of an offender's registration 
statement as governed by State and Federal law. Maryland's law provides for the 
automatic dissemination of registration information. Copies of registration 
statements will include the registrant's photograph but will not include 
fingerprints, social security number, victim information, or any other information 
prohibited from disclosure under the law. 

 The registrant's victim, or the parent or legal guardian of a victim who is a 
minor, is entitled to automatic notification. (Note: a victim who has filed a 
notification request form under Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-104, need not 
make a separate written request for a copy of the registrant's registration 
statement.)  

 Designated local law enforcement units must also send a copy of a 
registration statement to an individual who makes a written request. 

 The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services may also send 
a copy of a registration statement or a copy of the central registry, in whole or in 



part (by zip code or county) to an individual who makes a written request. 
Address correspondence to: 

Sex Offender Registry Unit 
P.O. Box 5743 
Pikesville, MD 21282-5743 
Telephone: 410-585-3600 
Fax: 410-653-5690  
Email: Sex Offender Registry Website Response 
 

Q13.  Are There Any Restrictions on Where a Sex Offender Can Live?  
 
 A perpetrator of sexual assault is very unlikely to be someone who is a 
stranger to you and your family. Most sexual crimes are committed by someone 
who has access to you or your children.  

• Approximately two-thirds of rapes were committed by someone known to the 
victim.1 

• 73% of sexual assaults were perpetrated by a non-stranger.1 
• 38% of rapists are a friend or acquaintance.1 
• 28% are an intimate partner.1 
• 7% are a relative.1 
 

• 797,500 children (younger than 18) were reported missing in a one-year period 
of time studied resulting in an average of 2,185 children being reported missing 
each day.2 

• 203,900 children were the victims of family abductions. 2 
• 58,200 children were the victims of non-family abductions. 2 
• ·Of the 797,500 kidnappings only 115 children were the victims of “stereotypical” 

kidnapping. These crimes involve someone the child does not know or a slight 
acquaintance who holds the child overnight, transports the child 50 miles or 
more, kills the child, demands ransom, or intends to keep the child permanently. 2 

1U.S. Department of Justice. 2005 National Crime Victimization Study. 2005. 
 
2U.S. Department of Justice. "National Estimates of Missing Children: An 
Overview" in National Incidence Studies of Missing, Abducted, Runaway, and Thrown away Children.  2005. 
 
 
 No, Maryland does not have any residency restrictions. Information put out 
by other states has shown that residency restrictions do not help to prevent 
sexual offenses from occurring because the victims and the offenders, in most 
situations, know each other.  Having ready access to victims, in private and 
secretive environments, is how sex offenders thrive.  
 

mailto:websiteresponse@dpscs.state.md.us


 Some states, such as Iowa and Florida, have found that residency 
restrictions can make it very difficult to track sex offenders who have become 
homeless. Homeless sex offenders are also more difficult to register and without 
an address the registry is unable to tell the public where the offender lives.  
Homeless sex offenders are better able to operate in private and secretive 
environments.  By registering a sex offender with a valid address the police, the 
Sex Offender Registry and the community are all better able to make sure that 
offender is not able to re-offend.  
 
 

Q14.  Where Can I Get Help if my Child or I Have Been a Victim of 
Sexual Assault?  

 
 
RAINN (Rape, Abuse, Incest National Network) 
 
 National Sexual Assault Telephone Hotline - 1.800.656.HOPE 

 
The caller's phone number is not retained, so the call is anonymous and 
confidential unless the caller chooses to share personally-identifying 
information. 
 
RAINN Online Hotline 

 
 
Maryland Coalition Against Sexual Assault (MCASA)  
 

What To Do If You Are Raped 
 
Maryland Rape Recovery Centers 
 
Sexual Assault Legal Institute (SALI) - Direct Civil Legal Services 
for Victims and Survivors 
 
MCASA's SALI provides direct civil legal services for victims and 
survivors of sexual assault regarding: 

• College Administrative Hearings  
• Privacy Issues  
• Peace and Protective Orders  
• Family Law Matters (intimate partner assault)  
• Employment  
• Housing  
• Crime Victims Compensation  
• Referrals for Tort Cases  
• Any other civil matter relating to sexual assault (some limitations 
regarding  incest).  

http://www.rainn.org/get-help/national-sexual-assault-online-hotline
http://www.mcasa.org/index.php?page=what-to-do
http://www.mcasa.org/index.php?page=rape-recovery-centers
http://www.mcasa.org/index.php?page=sexual-assault-legal-institute
http://www.mcasa.org/index.php?page=sexual-assault-legal-institute
http://www.mcasa.org/index.php?page=sexual-assault-legal-institute


 

Q15.  Where Can I Get a Copy of Maryland's Sex Offender 
Registration Law?  

 All of Maryland's laws can be found online at the Maryland State Law 
Library website: Sources of Maryland Law 

 Sex Offender Registration law is in the Criminal Procedure Article,  
§ 11-701 through § 11-721, Annotated Code of Maryland.  

 Definitions of Sexual Offenses and Other Registerable Crimes can be 
found in the Criminal Law Article under subtitles 3, 5, and 6, Annotate Code of 
Maryland.  Use the chart in Q1 to identify specific citations for each registerable 
offense.  

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.lawlib.state.md.us/researchtools/sourcesmdlaw.html
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